Just another WordPress.com site

Too Much

I’m a little sparodic but i’m trying to get into a habit. Hopefully a good habit. I think part of the problem is that i also write a Journal, but this isnt a Journal. It’s not really about me, well i hope its not. It’s about how i can inspire others. My spelling  is sometimes interesting and sometimes my grammar is a little bit odd but i’m not an english teacher just another average person trying to get their voice heard.

Today i was sharing with my daughter (again) something that keeps coming to my mind. The subject of ‘Too Much’. What is too much? How do we know we have too much? Is too much different for each person? Family? Group? Also what is that we could do without if we really choose?

I dont drive. I dont even know how to drive. Google maps informs me that i live 9.5 miles away from where i work. So i travel usually by bus and occasionally by train. Even if i had a car there wouldnt be anywhere to park it at the other end and so i would need a chauffer to drive it back for me and then collect me at the end of the day. Its also very expensive to park where i work and you need a permit, which you have to pay for on top of the parking rate. So i dont need to give up my car. It’s too far to walk so public transport is my only option, which is in itself expensive and often unreliable.

I also dont have a televsion. I dont own one. The one i had was being cleaned more then it was being watched so i got rid of it and the bills that came with it.

So what are my weaknesses when it comes to ‘too much’?

I think the first one has to be books. I can have a stack of books at home but yet i just have to have another one. I go into the shop and they say ‘take me home, you know you want too’. The problem is, they are right. However i am buying less for myself, but i do like to give books as presents. So where to get free books? Read the ones on your own shelves. Borrow from your family and or friends. My mother is a good source on this one. I often end up reading books i wouldn’t of thought of buying and i enjoy them too. What about the much forgotten libraries? I find Bradford library much better then Leeds. Sorry Leeds! I just love new books and Bradford library have on one of their floors a whole rack of new books and i’ve often indulged myself with something i wouldnt normally read. Then there is Oxfam. Okay it’s not free, but its only a few pounds for a book that you would of paid four times the amount for. So i’m not giving up books but i think it would take me a year to read what i have on my shelves and just sitting here i can see at least  6 books i havent even picked up since i bought them. Who needs a library?

I think one of my other weaknesses is chocolate. I went out today to buy milk and came back with chocolate too. Jaffa Cakes in fact. I dont buy jaffa cakes unless i am going to eat the whole packet, but at least today i shared a few with my daughter. Again the chocolate speaks to me and it never says anything good.

So maybe thats where i shall start with my quest to stop the ‘Too Much’. No more buying books, but book tokens are okay, just in case my children are reading this, and stop buying chocolate.

So thats my challenge then, no buying books and no buying chocolate till Christmas.

Comments on: "Too Much" (1)

  1. Hi Bev
    I am loving reading your blog and getting to know you more! I don’t care for grammer/spelling too much, simply because if someone is bothered by it then I’m simply boring or they’re reading for the wrong reasons! Lol

    And it’s rare that I use capital letters and grammer in a comment. VERY rare so I’m not sure why I’m doing it now!! Hahaha

    I wish I had the courage to get rid of our tv, I really do. Yes I love it when I get to hang out with the remote control but unless its 1am I don’t stand much chance. Yet. Books, I love too, maybe not quite the way you do but I do love them and have boxes stashed in my loft that I don’t even remember what titles are there!! Bad isn’t it?!!

    Jaffa cakes. What can I say? I am the person that will clean a whole car for just one jaffa cake. They blackmail me. They sweet talk me and then they jump to my hips before I even get a taste. Life is so not fair in that way!! 🙂

    Anyway, just wanted to say hi and that I love reading your blog!! 🙂

    Debs

    (the end of all english correctness!!!)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

